The Woods Services Award

Woods Services logo

Each year, the national Woods Services Award is given to one or two BSA volunteers for exceptional service and leadership in the field of Special Needs Scouting.

The Woods Services and Residential Treatment Center, in Langhorne, Pennsylvania, presents the award every year. The Center is a leading advocacy and service organization that provides educational, residential, and vocational services to children and adults with special needs. The award was established in 1978 in memory of Luther Wellington Lord, a residential supervisor for more than 23 years at the Center. An active Scouter, the award was established in recognition of his service to youth through Scouting at the local and national levels.

Each council may nominate one Scouter for the award each year. Use the official nomination form, which must be signed by the council’s Scout Executive. Send the signed form to Woods Services nominations must arrive by January 31.

Recipients 2017 to Present

Recipients 1978-2016

Preceding the list is the link to a document containing biographical summaries for many of the recipients.

  • 1978: Dr. John C. Seiver
  • 1979: M. Sgt. Edward Bishop
  • 1980: Sidney W. Keeler
  • 1981: Vahram K. Tashjran
  • 1982: Norman G. Schober
  • 1983: Walter P. Richey, Scoutmaster, Troop 517, Arlington, TX
  • 1984: Lewis Johnson, Scoutmaster, Troop 61, Oklahoma City, OK
  • 1985: George W. Shaffer, Jr., Scoutmaster, Troop 26, Tulsa, OK
  • 1986: Jim Martin, Scoutmaster, Troop 748, Florida,
  • 1987: Robert D. Hath, Scoutmaster, Troop 367, Howell, MI
  • 1988: Betsy K. Gerner, Delray Beach, FL
  • 1989: Francis J. Evans, Northampton, MA
  • 1990: William L. Kenny, Valley Forge Council, PA
  • 1996: Francis “Sarge” Johnson, Los Angeles Area Council, CA
  • 1997: Roy Frederick “Ted” Prichard, Colonial Virginia Council, VA
  • 1998: Douglas S. Schwab, Potomac Council, MD
  • 1999: J. Patrick Smith, Los Angeles Area Council, CA
  • 2000: Lewis H. Wood, Old Hickory Council, NC
  • 2001: Debra Delie, Samoset Council, MN
  • 2002: Frederick B. Hampton, Albuquerque, NM
  • 2003: Alexandra (Sandy) Klas, Indianhead Council, MN
  • 2004: Janet (Pepperday) Kelly, Sam Houston Area Council, TX
  • 2005: Jane L. Grossman, Greater St. Louis Area Council, MO
  • 2006: Walter M. (Buster) Brown, Old North State, NC
  • 2007: Kathleen Marie Henderson, Three Fires Council, IL
  • 2008: Randy Bishop, Denver Area Council, CO
  • 2009: Joe Harrington, Three Fires Council, IL
  • 2010: Steve Larson, Northern Star Council, MN
  • 2011: Alan Spaulding, Pacific Harbors Council
  • 2012: No Award Given
  • 2013: Anthony L. Mei, Marin Council, CA
  • 2014: Sonya Whitehead, Erie Shores Council, OH
  • 2015: Karen Jones, Heart of America Council, MO-KS
  • 2016: James Africano, Northern New Jersey Council, NJ